John F. Salmon, MB ChB, MD, FRCS, FRCOphth

John Salmon is the founder of the Oxford Eye Course. He was a Specialist Ophthalmologist at Groote Schuur Hospital for nine years. During this period, he received a doctorate on the subject of primary angle-closure glaucoma. He was then appointed to the position of Consultant Ophthalmologist to the Oxford Eye Hospital where he directed glaucoma services for 25 years. He is actively involved in teaching and in 2013 received an “Excellent Teacher” award from the University of Oxford. He has trained 25 Fellows in glaucoma, and has authored more than 100 peer-reviewed papers and seven book chapters. He is co-author of “Glaucoma” and is the author of “Kanski’s Clinical Ophthalmology”.

Imran H. Yusuf, MB ChB (Hons), MRes, MRCP(UK), PG Dip Ed, DPhil, FRCOphth

Imran Yusuf is a post-CCT and post-doctoral academic-clinician at the Oxford Eye Hospital & University of Oxford with interests in medical, surgical and inherited disorders of the retina. He is an examiner for the FRCOphth Part 2 exam. He has over 90 peer-reviewed publications, and has been awarded over 30 prizes including the Duke Elder Prize in Ophthalmology. He sits on the programme committee of the ESCRS and co-founded their monthly online journal club. He is a scientific co-founder of Beacon Therapeutics, a clinical stage biotechnology company spun out from the University of Oxford following his DPhil on retinal gene therapy.

Jonathan H. Norris, MB ChB, FRCOphth, MSc (Oxon) 

Jonathan Norris is the Lead Consultant for Oculoplastic and Orbital surgery and Clinical Lead at the Oxford Eye Hospital. He has published over 80 papers in his field and is the Oculoplastic and Orbital section editor for Eye. In 2017, he completed an MSc in Surgical Science and Practice at The University of Oxford, passing with distinction during which time he was awarded a Department for Continuing Education Scholarship. He is an Honorary Senior Clinical Lecturer in Ophthalmology at The University of Oxford. Mr Norris has an interest in training junior ophthalmologists and is the Training Programme Director for the Thames Valley Deanery, as well as an examiner for the FRCOphth Part 2 exam.